Olowookere chooses 21 players for the tournament

Head coach Bankole Olowookere has selected team captain Alvine Dah-Zossu, midfielder gem Taiwo Afolabi and top scorer Opeyemi Ajakaye as part of Nigeria’s 21-girl squad for the final of the this year’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

There’s also first-choice goalkeeper Faith Omilana, defenders Comfort Folorunsho, Blessing Sunday and Miracle Usani, midfielders Blessing Emmanuel and Chidera Okenwa, and forwards Omowunmi Bello and Yetundeayantosho.

Players and officials are due to leave Nigerian shores on Monday September 26 for a 10-day training camp in Turkey, before the delegation flies to India from Istanbul on October 6.

This year’s FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup matches will be played at Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Pandit Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Nigeria’s first game of the campaign is against Germany in Goa on Tuesday, October 11, starting at 8:00 p.m. India time (4:00 p.m. Nigeria time). The Flamingos will then face New Zealand on Friday October 14 also in Goa, before flying to Bhubaneswar to face Chile on Monday October 17.

Since the competition launched in New Zealand 14 years ago, Nigeria have only been absent once at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, the 2018 final held in Uruguay.

Full team list

Guardians: Faith Omilana; Linda Jiwuaku; Jessica Inyiam

Defenders: Olamide Oyinlola; Josephine Edafe; Folorunsho comfort; Miracle Usani; Tumininu Adeshina; Blessing Sunday; Alase Attervall; Immaculate Offiong

Midfielder: Chidera Okenwa; Blessing Immanuel; Marie Aderemi; Bisola Mosaku; Taiwo Afolabi

Attacker: Omowunmi Bello; Opeyemi Ajakaye; Edidiong Etim; Alvine Dah-Zossu; Yetunde Havingosho

GROUP A: India, USA, Morocco, Brazil

GROUP B: Germany, Nigeria, Chile, New Zealand

GROUP C: Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China

Comments are closed.